Passing the Baton to New PCLGA Board Members

On May 15, 2019, the PebbleCreek Ladies Golf Association’s board members and several committee chairs, out-going and incoming, met for a “cross-over” brunch hosted by President Marilyn Reynolds. The brunch was a delightful way to end the 2018-2019 season and provide an opportunity for the new board and committee chairs to have one-on-one discussions with previous members to start the transition of responsibilities.

The newly elected 2019-2020 executive board members are: Judy Layton, president, replacing Marilyn Reynolds; Judy Hauser, vice-president, replacing Chanca Morrell; Deb Smedley, secretary, replacing Kathy Carney and Linda Sweet, treasurer, who was re-elected for a second term. Both Marilyn Reynolds and Chanca Morrell served two terms and have brought valuable continuity to the PCLGA.

Other board members who will be transitioning are Barbara Patrow, parliamentarian, replacing Judy Hauser; Claudia Tiger, handicap chair, replacing Barbara Chilton and Vicki Ray and Layne Sheridan, tournament directors, replacing Vicki Norrie and Judy Layton. Two board members who agreed to team up as Tuesday Play Co-chairs this past year, Carol Sanders and Linda Thompson, have agreed to continue in their roles for another year. They have worked very hard this past season to develop a cadre of members who have learned the Golf Genius program and who will be a valuable resource for the PCLGA for years to come—thank you, Carol and Linda!

Committee chairs appointed by incoming President, Judy Layton, are also transitioning with their outgoing counterparts: Jackie Goupil will replace Barbara Economou, new membership, however, Barbara has agreed to assist Jackie this coming year; Mara Murray will replace Nancy Kyle, bulletin boards; Chris Duprey will replace Deanna Mendiola, publicity; Diana Wolf will replace Corrie Copple, scrapbook; Kathy Carney will replace Judy Newell, sunshine; and Marilyn Reynolds will replace Layne Sheridan, rules. Vicki Norrie will be filling the newly created committee chair position—Major Tournament Golf Genius Support.

Those who are continuing in their committee roles are Ellen Enright, photographer; Sharon Johnson, technology advisor, plus birdies and achievements; Chanca Morrell, assistant technology advisor and Linda Glazar, graphics. Check out the PCLGA website for more details along with the 2019-2020 tournament chairs and schedule and the listing of representatives to various organizations, including captains/co-captains of PCLGA Roadrunner and Cholla teams.

A huge thank you to all who have served in so many capacities to make this past year fantastic! Good luck to the new board as you begin to plan for another exciting year of PCLGA golf!

Deanna Mendiola

Back to Blog Posts